Bayern Munich Wins 8th Straight Bundesliga Title

Bayern Munich wins their 8th straight Bundesliga title with a victory over Werder Bremen thanks to a Robert Lewandowskigoal.

Lewandowski chested down Jerome Boateng‘s chipped pass to net the winner and seal the league with two games to spare.

Bayern’s coach Hansi Flick wins the league title in his first season in charge.

This was Bayern’s 11th straight Bundesliga win put them 10 points clear of Borussia Dortmund, who have three games left.

Bayern finished the match with 10 men after Alphonso Davies was sent off for two yellow-card offences.

Poland striker Lewandowski has scored 31 league goals this season, a tally that equals the single-season scoring record by a foreign player in the league. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, now at Arsenal, scored 31 Bundesliga goals for Borussia Dortmund in 2016-17.

Bayern were far from their best against a Werder Bremen side fighting for survival at the other end of the table.

With the game goalless, Bremen’s Maximilian Eggestein went close from distance before Lewandowski’s quality winner after Kingsley Coman had earlier headed narrowly wide.

Coman again went close before teenager Davies was sent off with 11 minutes remaining, while Werder Bremen had a late appeal for a penalty for handball turned down.

The result keeps Werder Bremen second-from-bottom with just two games left to avoid dropping down to the second-tier for the first time since 1980.

34 thoughts on “Bayern Munich Wins 8th Straight Bundesliga Title

  1. Congratulations to the being the champions of Germany for the umpteenth time

Comments are closed.