MMSD Inaugurates Joint Committee For Sustainable Development Of Mineral Sector



The Federal government has pledged it readiness of diversifying the economy through the Mining Sector.

Minister of State Mines and Steel Development , Dr Uchechukwu Sampson Ogah made this known at the inaugurates of a Joint Technical Committee with Revenue Mobilization Allocation and Fiscal Commission in Abuja

Dr Ogah explained that the aim was to accelerate sustainable development in the nation’s Solid Mineral Sector.

Dr Ogah urged the Committee to look at areas of synergy that would ensure the sector gets adequate funding for its operations, create jobs and wealth and increase the revenue base of the country,

“When properly funded, the Solid Mineral Sector would not only act as alternative to oil and gas as source of revenue generation for the country, but would create jobs and wealth, increase the revenue base of the country, add to its foreign reserve, reduce poverty and provide industrialization and infrastructure to Nigerians” Dr. Ogah stated.

He tasked the Committee to bring out a Blueprint that would look at ways of generating and actualising funding for the Solid Mineral Sector.

“The funds needed for the Sector to succeed can be achieved if the Ministry gets the full support of the Revenue Mobilization Allocation and Fiscal Commission”

In his closing remarks, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Mr Sunday Akan, thanked the organizers for the promptness in setting up the Joint Technical Committee and assured of the Ministry’s support for its work.

In his reponse, the Chairman of the Joint Technical Committee, Aliyu Abdulkadir, assured of the Commission’s collaboration to ensure that the Mining Sector gets the required funding for it to develop.

He promised that the Committee would work assiduously to achieve the objectives for which it was set up.

The Membership of the Committee are ;

Aliyu A. Abdulkadir – Chairman, Rilwan Abarshi – Chairman (Public Relations and Publicity Committee),
Wenah Asondu Temple -(Vice Chairman Solid Minerals Monitoring Committee), Rabiu Kabiru- (Ag. Acting Director, Solid Minerals) and Tanimu Aliyu- Ag. Director, Fiscal Efficiency Budget (RMAFC), Engr. Abduleazaq Garba- (Director-General NGSA) and Mrs Fatima Shinkafi- (Executive Secretary SMDF)

Others are Abakun Z.I Blessing – (Assistant Director, (RMAFC), Sagir Hayatu- (CRO Soild Minerals), Ojeka Patrick O- (Director Artisanal and Small Scale Miners), Mrs Okani Grace- (Director, PRS), Olufehinti, O.J- (DFA), Engr. Frank Odoom- (Ag. Director, Mining Inspectorate), Ms Amirah Waziri- (TA HM), Dauda Habila (TA HMS) and
Ogan Deisam (TA PS).

5 thoughts on “MMSD Inaugurates Joint Committee For Sustainable Development Of Mineral Sector

Comments are closed.